Controlling access to your contact database and matters data is a critical aspect of keeping your data safe and accessible to those who need it. Permissions operate slightly differently, depending on your subscription type.
What is an Administrator?
Any Amberlo user can be granted Administrator privileges. Administrators have all access to all users’ data. Administrator privileges are related to managing the account, and include the following areas which are accessible through the account settings:
• Account information – account name, currency type, account cancellation.
• Subscription - upgrading and downgrading account subscription plan.
• Matter, Contacts, and Contracts – adding, editing or deleting custom fields.
• Public Space setup
• Lead Capture Form setup and publishing
Only current Administrators can promote other Amberlo users to Administrator status.
Administrators follow the same data access privileges as their Manager or User role permits.
What actions can users perform on their data?
Create – create new data
Read – view existing data
Edit – alter existing data
Delete – delete data from the account
Export – export data to .CSV files for download
Scroll through a list view of your users to quickly update a user’s permission settings. Simply locate the user you’re looking to update and click on their name to edit permission settings.
Creating your first user with Enterprise level permissions
To add a new user in User List, click on the option +New User
More on Creating a new Sell user - your hierarchy and setting permissions
Once you've added the new user to Amberlo you're ready to begin entering the user's information and access settings.
The user's first and last names will be the displayed name in Amberlo.
The email address listed will receive an invitation to join the account, once your preferences are saved.
Users can be granted access to specific data types (Contacts, Matters, Invoices, Acitivites and Calendars, Timesheets and more access) on all different module levels:
• Module name
User may access module and data
• Can create
User may access to create data in selected module
• Same access permissions as Manager
User may access all data accessed by (direct) Manager.
Note: this may include the Manager’s peer data, and all actions can be performed on this data except deleting or transferring.
Other options you may set for a user include:
• Administrator Status (to learn what privileges Administrators have in Sell, click here)
• Add/manage subordinates
Editing a user's permissions
To edit the permissions of an existing account user, you must be allowed to add and manage subordinate users. If an account user has administrative privileges, the ability to add and manage subordinates is a default setting. A user can also be allowed to add and manage users without being an administrator.
Click a user's name on the hierarchy tree to view your editing options.
When editing a user, you may:
• Change their display name
• Change their login email address
• Assign the user to a new or different Group
• Adjust access to Leads, Contacts, and Deals
• Add or remove Admin privileges
• Move the user to a different location in the hierarchy tree
• Delete the user
Click Save to apply your changes, or Cancel to dismiss them.
Deleting a user from the account
You must be a Manager-level Amberlo user with Administrative privileges in order to delete other users from the account. You may only delete users within your own hierarchy tree.
Only Amberlo users without subordinates can be deleted.
When a user is deleted, all objects owned by that user will be transferred to the parent user (direct Manager).
Click a user's name to view their permissions settings. At the bottom of the pop up menu, click the Delete User option. You'll be prompted to confirm your selection.
Permissions options for the Beginner accounts
Managing permissions and data access is important for any size team. The permissions options for the Beginner Amberlo accounts offer a high degree of flexibility and customization for every user in your account.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does the dotted line around a user's name mean?
A dotted line around a Amberlo user's name means that they have not yet accepted their invitation to your account. If your account user hasn't received their invitation email, be sure they've checked their spam/junk folders or resend the invitation.
How do I resend an invitation to a new user?
You can resend an invitation to a new user by entering their email address on this page.
What happens when I delete a user from my account?
When a user is deleted, the user's data is not deleted. The deleted user's data is reassigned to the Account Owner.
I can't see a task I created and assigned to someone else in my account. Why?
Tasks that are not associated with a Matter, Contact, or Contract are kept private and only visible to the task assignee.